Explanation needed - 240v step down for 12v & 5v output

born2fly

Joined Dec 5, 2020
I have a control board for a hot tub that has a 240v input step down transformer that outputs 12v & 5v. Why would this be done when the standard voltage is 120? I'm not an engineer but am very curious why it couldn't have just been a 120v step down transformer. There are a few relays for the pump motor(high & low), heater & aux. There is also an LCD display that connects to the board.

thanks,
rich

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Without seeing the label on the tub at the AC power input, and whatever lable or writing is on the transformer, it's hard to say, One possibility is that the secondary circuits are designed to regulate down to 12 V and 5 V when the input is 240 V, and the extra headroom is dissipated as heat. If you can handle the heat, this is one way of having a "universal input" power system without the complexities of a switcher.

Are the 12 V and 5 V regulators switching or linear?

Photos?

ak

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
I wasn't going to drill down into this, but Ron brought it up.
I have a control board for a hot tub that has a 240v input step down transformer that outputs 12v & 5v. Why would this be done when the standard voltage is 120?
Is it?

Is the main AC input to your tub 120 or 240? They each take two wires plus a ground, so you can't tell just by looking. Neither option is a given.

ak

born2fly

Joined Dec 5, 2020
Without seeing the label on the tub at the AC power input, and whatever lable or writing is on the transformer, it's hard to say, One possibility is that the secondary circuits are designed to regulate down to 12 V and 5 V when the input is 240 V, and the extra headroom is dissipated as heat. If you can handle the heat, this is one way of having a "universal input" power system without the complexities of a switcher.

Are the 12 V and 5 V regulators switching or linear?

Photos?

ak