Circuit Explanation Needed.

sonic007

Joined Feb 26, 2012
I am a beginner Electronics enthusiastic and I am trying to build a circuit and I kind of know how to go about assembling the circuit but I do not understand purpose of some of components in the circuit. I have attached an image of the circuit for your reference. http://www.futurekit.com/2009/manual/future/eng/PDF_FK9/fk945e-1.pdf

The circuit is "Digital Temperature Controller.

The Electronic kit seller did not provide a clear and through explanation of the circuit. Can someone help me with the explanation of the circuit. For example

- The Purpose of the Relay , npn Transistor (TR2 C458) , LED1 ?

-The Purpose of the combination ( R1, C1 , C2) on the left top part of the circuit ?

-The Purpose of the combination ( TR1 C9013, ZD1 5V1,C3,R23,D1 4001, C4 ) on the right top part of the circuit ?

Also , the document explains that "Jumping J1" is used as operation of relay.
UnJumped - relay will be working at the lower temp and stop working at the higher temp.

How can I make a change to the circuit so that it just reads tempreture.

Thank you So much.

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
- The Purpose of the Relay , npn Transistor (TR2 C458) , LED1 ?
The part of the schematic where the actual AC load is controlled isn't shown. Look at the pictoral next page, there are contactors inside the relay to control the AC.
-The Purpose of the combination ( R1, C1 , C2) on the left top part of the circuit ?
R1 & C1 form a "power on clear" circuit: when power is first applied this point stays low for a bit to signal IC2 to do a reset.
C2 is a +5V voltage filter.
-The Purpose of the combination ( TR1 C9013, ZD1 5V1,C3,R23,D1 4001, C4 ) on the right top part of the circuit ?
Drawn bass ackwards, it's a voltage regulator. 12V in/5V out.
How can I make a change to the circuit so that it just reads tempreture.
Don't use the AC socket. (It should be reading temperature anyway.)
Thank you So much.
You're welcome.