Error "option" on C compiler

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
Hi guys , i'm new to this C programming malarky.

i get
{ 46.1 undefined identifier "OPTION" } when compiling a sample programme using the Hi-tec C compiler for a pic16f84,, I assume it doesn't know what the world OPTION means,,,any ideas why it's doing this??

this is the sample programme.
PS i dont know how to use code blocks?

C:
#include    <htc.h>

/*
*    Example code for using timer0 on a 16F84
*    Just sets up a 1 second interrupt and increments a variable
*/

/*
*    Calculate preload value for one second timer
*/

#define    PERIOD    1000000        // period in uS - one second here
#define    XTAL    4000000        // crystal frequency - 4MHz

#define IPERIOD    (4 * 1000000 / XTAL)    // Period of instruction clock in uSeconds

#define    SCALE    256        // Timer 0 prescaler
#define T0_TICKS 256    // Number of counts for interrupt

#define TICK_PERIOD (SCALE * IPERIOD)    // Period (uSec) of one increment of timer 0

#define    RELOADS    ((PERIOD/T0_TICKS)/TICK_PERIOD)

unsigned long    seconds;    // second count
near char reload = 0;

/* service routine for timer 0 interrupt */
void interrupt
timer0_isr(void)
{
    if(reload == 0){
        // effect a change on PORTB whenever our desired period is reached.
        // Note this timing will contain a margin of error.
        reload = RELOADS + 1;
        seconds++;
        PORTB++;    // effect a change on PORTB
    }
    reload--;
    T0IF = 0;
}

main()
{
    // initialize timer 0;

OPTION = 0b0111;    // prescale by 256
    T0CS = 0;            // select internal clock
    T0IE = 1;            // enable timer interrupt
    GIE = 1;            // enable global interrupts
    TRISB = 0;            // output changes on LED

for(;
        continue;        // let interrupt do its job
}

Last edited:

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Malarky implies you'd rather not be messing with it I guess. Your choice, so never mind.