Electronic Bike conversion with Lawnmower Battery? - HELP NEEDED

griffin_designer

Joined Nov 19, 2023
Hello Everyone, I am really new to electronics and I am struggling to figure out how I would be able to use my GreenWorks 40 volt 4 amp hour battery on a 48 volt 1000 watt electric bike conversion kit. I have looked for a step up converter from 40volts to 48volts but I was only able to find one on AliExpress.

I don't know if the system will still work with a 40 volt battery or do I need to figure out a way to step up the voltage. My other concern is the quality of the Aliexpress converter and if it will go bad or start a fire. Please help me out if you are knowledgeable on this topic. Thanks!

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Sounds like a bad idea. When you step up a DC voltage you reduce the available current output. the reduced current output will noticeably degrade the experience of riding the electric bike.

Amp hours is a measure of battery capacity. It has nothing to do with how much current is available to start or run a motor.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Don’t use a step-up converter. You are not going to gain anything by going from 40V to 48V.

Also, do the math.
1000W translates to about 20A at 48V. If you use the ebike at 1/5 the power, i.e. drawing 4A, the battery will theoretically last for 1 hour. In reality, you will have to peddle after about 15 minutes.

griffin_designer

Joined Nov 19, 2023
Thank you for responding, Would it be better to go with a 36 volt system 500 watt converstion kit and use a step down converter or no converter at all?

griffin_designer

Joined Nov 19, 2023
Don’t use a step-up converter. You are not going to gain anything by going from 40V to 48V.

Also, do the math.
1000W translates to about 20A at 48V. If you use the ebike at 1/5 the power, i.e. drawing 4A, the battery will theoretically last for 1 hour. I reality, you will have to peddle after about 15 minutes.