ElectroMagnet Lock Circuit, Soft Stop

caross98

Joined Mar 30, 2023
Hello All - I am new to circuits and the community. I have a door project which requires an electromagnet. I am trying to accomplish the following:

Pwm vdc in:

1. Gain a bit of smoothing with a capacitor.

2. Protect the voltage source from spikes when the field collapses.

3. Near instant on while limiting inrush current, and create a "soft stop" leveraging the capacitor.

Am I on the right track with a circuit like this? Any guidance would be welcome.

PXL_20230330_224652250.jpg

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
Not really,
I don't think that Circuit will do anything useful.
If you will make a list of potential problems You are trying to avoid,
I'm sure we can come up with some viable solutions.

Is this a "Mag-Lock" ?, ( big rectangular Magnet mounted to the Door-Frame ) ,
or, a Solenoid-Actuated Striker-Mechanism ?

What will be providing Power ?

How much Current does it require ?

What is providing Control of the Power ?

Why do You think it needs a special control-Circuit ?

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
What is the operating voltage source? And what does it need protection from??
Next, given that an electomagnet solenoid arrangement closes an air gap as it operates, and given that as the air gap closes the force increases, with the moving parts moving even faster as the attraction increases, how do you expect it to stop softly. Solenoids are seldom gentle, never without a lot of extra effort in the controls.All the questions that LQC asks in post #2 do matter a fair amount.
Really, if you want a gentle operation use a gear train and either a lever or a cam.And what is the control device? And how much energy will be stored in the magnetic field to be converted back into a voltage spike???
And we still do not know what sort of force and stroke this electromagnet is going to provide.