Dual GPIO/Manual switch help

tavalin

Joined May 14, 2015
Hello

I'm after a bit of a critique, and if possible an easier/alternative solution to what I've come up with. I'm a software developer by trade and although not an absolute electronics beginner I'm still learning so apologize if I don't understand any of the comments/suggestions.

I've building a device where an internet enabled mcu controls a relay. In the event that the mcu cannot connect to the internet for whatever reason, I'd like to add a manual switch that can work in conjunction with the mcu. I envisage the mcu and manual switch working like those lights and switches you find in a corridor where either switch will toggle the current status.

Here's the schematic. It currently uses a P-channel MOSFET and an N-channel MOSFET in conjunction with a SPDT manual switch.

Capture.PNG

I've verified that it -should- work using this simulator and if you look you can see my intended behaviour.

As I said critique and improvements welcome - and an alternative circuit that doesn't use p-channels MOSFETs would also be appreciated as I seem to be having a hard time tracking down suitable ones. My GPIO pins are 3.3V and most of the p-channels I seem to find have a threshold between -2 and -4V.

Thanks in advance.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I'm not completely sure I know what you are doing but I do think that way isn't going to work.

Look, you have this device with inputs and outputs that also connects to the interwebs. Use one GPIO pin as an input from your switch, use another GPIO as an output to the relay driver.

The device can moderate between connectivity and user pushing some button or tossing some switch.

You'll need a relay driver something like this (I just hot linked this so don't take the transistor as gospel):

and something like this will detect your switch:

tavalin

Joined May 14, 2015
Hi ErnieM, thank you for your reply.

Hopefully I can clarify more what I'm looking to do: