driving a mosfet with optocoupler and a voltage source between 5V to 60V

Carlos Delfino

Joined Dec 16, 2016
I am studying how to design an optocoupled active load, and I need to control the MOSFET with the signal obtained from a 4n25. The voltage that will be used at the gate will come from the load to be tested, so it will range from 5V (or 10V) to 60V.

What would be the best way to make the driver for these active load mosfets?

Carlos Delfino

Joined Dec 16, 2016
The circuit on the LED side is not powered by a PWM source, but by a set of opamps that will provide the current level necessary to activate or not the mosfet through the 4n25.

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
If your FET is not going to be used for any type of PWM, or "High-Speed-Switching",
a simple Photo-Voltaic-Gate-Driver will work with no other Components.

As an extra bonus, the outputs can be treated just like a free-floating Battery,
meaning that they can be paralleled for faster Switching-Speeds,
or connected in series for a higher Output-Voltage if needed.

Attachments

Carlos Delfino

Joined Dec 16, 2016
@LowQCab
I don't know if I understood correctly from what I read in the datasheet, but no external component is necessary to compose the mosfet driver, could you please show me a circuit that uses this optocoupler, as the datasheet does not exemplify its use graphically.

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Presumably, this must be some sort of variable current drive, because otherwise the MOSFET is almost a dead short across the power supply. How is the current regulated? There seems to be no sign of a feedback loop.

Carlos Delfino

Joined Dec 16, 2016
Presumably, this must be some sort of variable current drive, because otherwise the MOSFET is almost a dead short across the power supply. How is the current regulated? There seems to be no sign of a feedback loop.