Do I need a resistor in series with led for a 4 channels optocoupler LTV847?

microcoder

Joined Jan 9, 2008
First, I am a programmer, not an electronics guy. But I do try to make some circuits and usually manage OK with digital electronics. But this time I have a microcontroller that switches some signals using a LTV847 4-channel optocoupler and also a LTV817 1-channel optocoupler. I was under the impression, probably from another circuit that I once used that had a 1K resistor on the ground side of the LED that triggers the transistor in the chip. Truth is, I think I borrowed the circuit from someone else's design. Anyway, this time my signal is 3.3V and maybe the other time it was 5V and that might be why I needed a resistor that time. Anyway, I seem to be able to switch the signals OK on the LTV847 but not on the LTV817. I shorted across the resistor and then it worked. Do I need any of those resistors? I would rather not have them in the circuit if I don't need them. Well, especially if they do more harm than good.

microcoder

Joined Jan 9, 2008
Do you really need a schematic to answer that question? I will restate it a little more clearly. Is a resistor needed on the ground side of the LED in an LTV847 or LTV817 optocoupler when the trigger signal level is 3.3V?

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
You always need a resistor to limit the current to the input LED of an opto coupler.
It can be in series with either the input or the ground terminal of the LED.
It's value should be such as to give the desired input current through the LED from the source voltage, Vs [R = (Vs - Vled) / Iled].
The Vled and required Iled can be determined from the opto's data sheet.
Clear enough?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Do you really need a schematic to answer that question? I will restate it a little more clearly. Is a resistor needed on the ground side of the LED in an LTV847 or LTV817 optocoupler when the trigger signal level is 3.3V?