DIAC IV Curve With Oscilloscope.

Thread Starter

aragon1971

Joined Apr 7, 2008
42
hi a have the following circuit how i must connect the ch1 and ch2 of osciloscope to find in xy mode the IV curve of diac.

The circuit is follow

72747789_551156125639570_3890800428085936128_n.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
8,381
If the AC source MUST be floating. Connect the scope ground to the junction of diac and R2 or R3 depending which you are using. Connect the Y channel (voltage) to the top of the diac and the X channel (current) to the AC GND. Invert the X channel to get the correct polarities. This will display the IV curve on the scope.
 

Thread Starter

aragon1971

Joined Apr 7, 2008
42
If the AC source MUST be floating. Connect the scope ground to the junction of diac and R2 or R3 depending which you are using. Connect the Y channel (voltage) to the top of the diac and the X channel (current) to the AC GND. Invert the X channel to get the correct polarities. This will display the IV curve on the scope.

thank you the ac signal come from a tapered transformer 220 vrms from network convert to 36 Vrms is this case the ac signal is floating or not ? (see attachment)
 

Attachments

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
8,381
It looks like it is floating. To be sure, with it switched off, measure the resistance between one of the AC outputs and the mains earth pin. It should show a very high resistance or overrange.
 

drc_567

Joined Dec 29, 2008
716
... This thread is interesting and informative. If it is not too much trouble, could the original poster give us a screen shot or diagram of the resulting scope image?
 
Top