Rotating magnet triggered diac-triac speed controller

Brian Coat

Joined May 23, 2024
TLDR: Diagnostic method guidance sought for magnet + coil triggered triac speed controller circuit. Clueless Mechanical Engineer needs coaching.

A friend gave me an old food mixer to fix. She said it smokes and smells.

I am a mechanical engineer by profession and pride myself that I can fix anything .... eventually ... but this one is stumping me so I thought I'd ask for help from the forum. Also, I'd like to learn more about this type of stuff.

There is a movable controller board, with two pins, whose proximity to a rotating magnet on a brushed ac motor varies when you turn the speed dial. The whole board tilt so the pins get closer to the rorating magnet. I think this triggers a diac-triac which chops the sine wave.

This sounds crude .... but my 2019 Kitchen Aid uses a Watt Governor, like a steam engine, so this is high tech in Mixerland!!

When I plugged it in it worked apart from a graunching from the gearbox and the aforementioned smell.

I fixed the 'box and pulled the board. There were some dead looking capacitors so I replaced all the big caps. I also replaced the triac and a high power resistor which looked toasted.

I reassembled it and it no longer smells but I've lost speed control.

ARGH!

I pulled one leg of each cap and resistor and double checked they are right capacitance/resistance. All OK and same as numbers / codes on old parts.

I checked all continuities. All OK.

I could not test the new triac but I assume it is OK.

I think I need to put a scope on it and figure out what is going on but I have no clue really - I'm a mechanical engineer.