Dc to dc buck converter drops voltage

Wolf999

Joined Aug 9, 2023
Why does dc to dc buck boost converter drops output voltage from 12v to around 1.9v when I connect potentiometer to control amperage?
But voltage controlling potentiometer works just fine.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Why does dc to dc buck boost converter drops output voltage from 12v to around 1.9v when I connect potentiometer to control amperage?
But voltage controlling potentiometer works just fine.
Without a schematic diagram it is difficult to speculate on the root cause of your observations. I can't believe your expectations of psychic divination.

Last edited:

Wolf999

Joined Aug 9, 2023
Without a schematic diagram it is difficult to speculate on the root cause of your observations. I can't believe your expectations psychic divination.
Without a schematic diagram it is difficult to speculate on the root cause of your observations. I can't believe your expectations psychic divination.
Sorry I'm new to electronics, Here I attached a picture of my buck converter.
Sorry I'm a newbie to electronics, Here I attached a picture of my buck converter and how I connected the wires.20230810_014643.jpg

Wolf999

Joined Aug 9, 2023
What load did you connect? What did you set the current to?
I connected a 120mm LED casing fan to test, I adjusted the amp potentiometer to max level incase it was too low current but still fan stayed off. But as soon as I removed wires from amps pot fan spins back again.

Wolf999

Joined Aug 9, 2023
This fan will definitely get burned if it got the full output of 9ah from this converter, But it works fine when I removed amps pot. When checked the voltage it's still at around 1.66v.

Thank you so much for your quick reply and kindness.

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020