DC motor speed control problems

RLS56

Joined Dec 18, 2014
This is my first post here, and by intro I am a complete noob. Have played around with various electrical things, no real electronics experience, and no education in this area. So please be gentle, and especially please use simplest terminology.

In my work I am rebuilding a device that uses a small DC motor at low rpm. It is labeled "Motor DC - Filter RF - HP .002 - RPM 24 - Volts 27 - Amp .5 - For use on 28 volt DC system". I attempted to use a cheap PWM controller that I bought on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/DROK-Controll...=UTF8&qid=1418916526&sr=8-1&keywords=DROK+pwm. I supplied 12VDC to the controller. Regardless of the pot setting, the motor runs at one speed. Using a variable resistive controller the speed adjustability is excellent. What am I doing wrong here? Thanks for any thoughts.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Have you any way of confirming the mean level out of the PWM controller, even a DC VOM should work with the motor connected.
Also does it appear to be a plain DC brushed motor with the supply wired direct to the brushes?
Max.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to the forum!
Is the motor brushed or brushless?
You applied 12VDC to the controller, but what voltage to the motor?

RLS56

Joined Dec 18, 2014
Have you any way of confirming the mean level out of the PWM controller, even a DC VOM should work with the motor connected.
Also does it appear to be a plain DC brushed motor with the supply wired direct to the brushes?
Max.
Welcome to the forum!
Is the motor brushed or brushless?
You applied 12VDC to the controller, but what voltage to the motor?