DC-DC Isolator - Switching On and Off

circuits9

Joined Feb 2, 2020
I am trying to provide a switching mechanism from an MCU to turn on/off a Trico DC-DC Isolator circuit that drives an LDO and 555 Timer. I am attempting to use a BC547 transistor to provide switching capability to the Trico DC-DC isolator. I also tried a 2n7000 Mosfet and have similar results. The Trico TBA1-0311 (Datasheet) takes a 3V input from the transistor and boosts it to 5V. The output is then sent to a LP2950 (Datasheet) LDO to get a clean 3.3V to send to a 555 timer.

The output voltage from the BC547 is measured at ~3.3V but as soon as the DC-DC isolator is added, the voltage drops significantly before the DC-DC isolator drops to 0.5V and the output from DC-DC isolator is about 1V.

Is there a better way to do this? I am very new to Isolators and can't quite figure out why I am not getting the output voltage I need. Attached is a partial schematic of the circuit. Any guidance would be much appreciated!

Untitled.png

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
With the MCU_ENABLE_PIN high, what is the voltage on the left end of R6?
The voltage on pins 1 and 2 of the isolator?
Voltages to be measured relative to GND.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
And check that R6 is indeed 1k and R? is 10K.
Is the only load on the LP2950 the '555.
What circuitry is connected to the '555?

circuits9

Joined Feb 2, 2020
Confirmed both resistors are correct. Also, I removed the 555 timer load. It is just the transistor, DC-DC-isolator and the LP2950.

KeithWalker

Joined Jul 10, 2017
You are not driving Q2 hard enough. Measure the collector to emitter voltage when the enable pin is high. It should be about 200mV. Decrease the value of R6 until you get that. Does the MCU you are using have an active sink output ? If it is open collector you will need to add a pullup resistor.
Regards,
Keith

circuits9

Joined Feb 2, 2020