Current Limiter as a stop for linear actuator

aidank

Joined Nov 22, 2023
Im relatively new to the world of control of linear actuators, im a mechanical engineer by profession.

I currently have an actuator which is 12V forwards and -12V reverse. Actuator is rated for 15amps. 300N push pull.

I want to limit the stroke length of the actuator via an adjustable mechanical stop. Not suitable to use a reedswitch on the actuator as the stop is 2ft away from the actuator. To keep the cost of the actuator down dont want any potentiometer or such in the actuator, I want to keep it simple.

What I would like is to be able to put a current limiter in the actuator circuit so that when the actuator pushes against the mechanical stop it just cuts out, autoresets and is ready to go again. this would protect both the actuator and the linkages and stops.

Any suggestions for either a nice easy circuit which i could build or even a off the shelf component for this application.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
"Keep it simple" will certainly lead to a poor design with the linear actuator. Aside from that we have no information as to how the actuator is controlled, or what sort of power source is involved.
If the application is manually controlled by an operator using a spring-return -to-off switch, then possibly a simple stop could be adequate, but probably not.
Linear actuators are available with internal switches for end of stroke, which could be one option. The linear actuators that I worked with most recently were rather powerful, I think about 100 Newtons, 24Volts DC at about 18 amps. That model included a link designed to break if it was forced beyond the end of travel. So that application had limit switches to signal the automation to switch off the power relays at the end of the move. If this is an industrial machine you will need to use actual limit switches and not a reed switch. If it is a personal use, one-off product then a momentary switch can work.