Creating a retractable airscoop

Discussion in 'Automotive Electronics' started by marshall98, Mar 22, 2017.

1. marshall98

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 22, 2017
    Hi guys, I'm very new to electronic circuits so I don't know much about it. I got this idea of a simple circuit to extend and retract my car's air scoop with a switch. so basically switch on to deploy the air scoop and switch off to retract it back but I have no idea how I can design a circuit for it. can anyone help me? will be greatly appreciated. thanks

2. recklessrog

May 23, 2013
    We did this to a Toyota MR2 by getting a headlight retracting mechanism from a scrap yard, ( used to raise and lower headlights in lots of cars over the years) Because it was powerful enough to raise headlights, it was more than powerful enough for the scoop. the one we used had built in limit switches and simply needed a switch, fuse, and power from the battery. P.S, although the MR2 is rear engined, we fitted it in the bonnet just for cosmetic effect)

marshall98 likes this.
  3. marshall98

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 22, 2017
    thanks for the info! I'll take a look at it straight away

4. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    electronic circuit will depend on the mechanical solution chosen..

A single switch + motor may be all thats needed.. Flip switch one way.. scoop goes up.. flip other way (to reverse power to motor) and scoop goes down.. Nothing else required.. End stop switches would be a good idea but again that depends on the mechanical solution kind of..

5. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    There are also automotive antenna retractors that might easily be hacked for this purpose.

#12 likes this.
  6. BR-549

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 22, 2013
    As others have noted.........it will depend on the size and shape of scoop......it's location.....and nearby structure.

The mechanical solution will limit and suggest the control. What's wrong with a cable actuator.......like an old choke cable?