Correct Connection Setup - FR Signal Generator to Oscilloscope

btvarner

Joined Jan 7, 2018
Ok, I am really going out on a limb here. This is the most basic question you can imagine. But in reality, everywhere I look and try to study, to gain electronic knowledge, I am faced with forums, YouTube videos, or articles that provide answers to specific questions or generally guide a person through a process. Every one of those guides always assume you know the other knowledge required to complete the task. First my question:

How (Specifically to and from what spots) do I connect a Realistic SG-2 RF Signal Generator to a Electronics 465 Oscilloscope?

I am trying to determine if the RF generator is producing accurate frequency output, or if it needs to be calibrated. I am new to electronic equipment and learning as I go. My problem is that I can find plenty of help in functioning and usage of these two devices once they are connected as required. But nothing on how to connected them in the first place. (I said this was the most basic of questions.)

The FR generator has an RF connector, an AF connector, and a screw-in attachment for a bare wire (Lower right in image). I already have a conversion for the microphone connection points on the generator to BNC. So I have a BNC to BNC cord. That is not a problem. But which specific points do I connect to? AF or DC? RF or AF? When I connect either the AR or RF to AC on the scope I get nothing. When I connect to DC, I get a signal, but it is very jumpy. Changes made to the signal on the RF generator do not make any difference at all to the signal shown on the oscilloscope. I know the oscilloscope works because it was demonstrated to me live when I purchased it.