Controlling a 12v car led bulb with Arduino

Ping pong

Joined Feb 13, 2022
I have a set of switch back led bulbs installed in my car which plug directly into the stock turn signal harness so the orange/amber LEDs get their positive and negative current from there. There is a third wire sticking out which provides positive current to the white LEDs when the car is turned on. Both white and amber LEDs share a common ground from the factory turn signal harness.

Now I have a simple Arduino code that powers on LEDs with a fade effect using pwm when the car is turned on using a trigger from the car ACC wire. The problem is that I don't understand how I will wire this together.

From what I've read, I need a N channel MOSFET that is connected to the negative/ground of the power supply and the led. But in my case the ground is shared with the stock harness and I cannot give a separate ground to the white LEDs.

Please do note that I'm an amateur when it comes to electronics and Arduino stuff is completely new to me :)

Below are the led bulbs I'm using:
https://a.aliexpress.com/_mMwRJPQ

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
From what I've read, I need a N channel MOSFET that is connected to the negative/ground of the power supply and the led. But in my case the ground is shared with the stock harness and I cannot give a separate ground to the white LEDs.
Yes, that would be true. What you are getting at is called low side (ground) switching using a N Channel MOSFET. The following is a schematic of an example of doing low side switching.

LED RGB MOSFET DRIVEN.png

The example uses low side switching driving a RGB LED. You would only need a single channel, not 3 as shown. So what you really want and need is high side switching and we go from an N Channel MOSFET to a P Channel MOSFET. Your LEDs are:
Color: White and Amber
Power: 30W per
Voltage(Input):12~24V