Confused by vias, plated, and un-plated holes

phillipsoasis

Joined Aug 22, 2022
I am a total beginner to pcb design. I have a schematic in KiCad 7.0 and I want to make a PCB for it. In one of the KiCad forums, PCBWay was recommended as a low cost PCB fabricator, and the prices looked OK. I created a 2 layer board, but it is too big for my needs, so I started to design a 4 layer board - inner layers are power and ground, and the outer layers are signals. I have a handful of signals left to add, and I need to run some signals on both layers so I can cross tracks - i.e. start on the front, jump to the back, then jump to the front and connect the signal. I was reading about vias and plated/un-plated holes and have managed to confuse myself. The cost of a board with blind/buried vias is 8-10 times the cost of a standard board from PCBWay. Do I need to use a via, or can I achieve what I want with a through board hole?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Do I need to use a via, or can I achieve what I want with a through board hole?
To make connections between layers that don't involve a component lead, you have to use vias.

The advantage of blind/buried vias is that they don't consume routing resources on all layers, whereas vias and pads do.

phillipsoasis

Joined Aug 22, 2022
To make connections between layers that don't involve a component lead, you have to use vias.

The advantage of blind/buried vias is that they don't consume routing resources on all layers, whereas vias and pads do.
Thanks for your quick reply! PCBWay has two types of boards - standard and advanced. Standard only has through holes (plated or non-plated), advanced has vias. Am I understanding you correctly, that with the standard board, I cannot run a track on the top of the board, then to the bottom of the board and back again unless I use a via (i.e the advanced board)? Is there normally a very large increase in price for using vias?

Jon Chandler

Joined Jun 12, 2008
Let's try to clarify: