concept of negative feedback circuit

sharanbr

Joined Apr 13, 2009
Hello,

I am pretty new to Analog (IC) design. So, kindly excuse if my questions are basic.

I have several questions with respect to negative feedback circuits,

1) x is the input; y is the output; if K is the gain the forward path; M is the gain in feedback path.

I am assuming that the output would be represented by,

y = K * (x-M*y)

Is this correct?

2) if K = 1 & M = 1 then

y = x-y

What would be the output for such an equation for a) for DC input b) for AC input

For DC input, I see that output goes to zero.

Is this correct?

Can circuit have such values for K & M

3) In case of AC input, what would happen.

Would the output track input with a given gain?

4) I am struggling to clearly understand the need for feedback.

For example, if the aim is to boost output then simple gain in the output path would suffice.
What is the need for negative feedback?

Is the only advantage that if the output drifts for a constant input, the output would automatically adjust?

5) in case of AC input, what would happen if input is changing faster than delay/latency associated with the circuit. This means that input would change before output is propogated back through the feedback path?

Thanks in advance ...

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
the gain and feedback are in opposition, so output is equal to input times the difference between gain and feedback

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
In general, negative feedback provides a correction so that the output more accurately follows the input. In effect the output is compared with the input and a correction is fed back to correct any differences. This correction generally reduces the gain so you trade off gain for accuracy.