Compare PWM signals

V.Rossi

Joined May 16, 2023
Hello all,
I want to compare a PWM signal (IN+) with another signal (OUTH). To do this, I need to detect both and, if possible, output a digital signal if the OUTH signal no longer matches the IN+ signal.
One idea was an op-amp (integrator), but I'm not that familiar with signals yet, which made me fail until now. Unfortunately, as a beginner, I am totally lacking ideas on where to start.

I would appreciate helpful answers.

With kind regards

V.Rossi
IN+_OUTH.png

V.Rossi

Joined May 16, 2023
Try feeding the signals into the inputs of an XOR gate. The output will be low if the signals are identical.

Les.
Thank you for your answer. However, I would have a peak every period at the point where the one PWM is low and the other is high. This would not work because the digital signal is supposed to act as an error message.
In addition, a small deviation of the two signals should be allowed and not return a digital signal.

V.Rossi

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
If you invert one signal and combine them you will get an error signal proportional to the difference between the two which you can use with a threshold to do whatever you want.

V.Rossi

Joined May 16, 2023
Before more solutions are generated, what else can you tell us about your requirements?
I need to compare input with output and if the output signal no longer matches the input signal, I need a digital signal with which I can switch off the input. However, small deviations should be allowed so that the input is not switched off every time there is a small voltage drop.
In addition, I intend to enable the input manually only after the digital signal has been applied.
Furthermore, the output signal is delayed compared to the input signal. The delay time is a maximum of 130 ns.

Thank you!

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020