Circuit to convert 230VAC to 0-1.225V microprocessor input?

jmckenzie

Joined Feb 4, 2016
Hello,

I'm new to the forum. I'm currently studying for an MSc in renewable energy. I have a little experience with basic electronics and arduino.

Ive just started (well i should have!) a year long experiment which involves a 16 channel data logger. Unfortunately I've underestimated the complexity of data logging!

The inputs to the logger need to be 0 - 1.225V. I need to measure the power consumption of 2 AC circuits, I have 2 CT Clamps for measuring current and need to measure voltage as well.

I'm considering adapting the first circuit on this page: http://microcontrollerslab.com/ac-voltage-measurement-using-microcontroller/

I'm not sure what to use as the ground connected to the 2200uf caps? Do the caps and the 2m2 resistors allow for a potential divider between AC and DC negative? Or is it a coil tap ground or something similar? If someone could clarify how this will work I'd really appreciate it! before I plug something in just to go bang!

Thank you,

Jim

jmckenzie

Joined Feb 4, 2016
okay now Ive read it again I realise the caps are for filtering harmonics. But could someone explain to me how the voltage reduction is achieved please? It seems like the voltage would just be too high for the op amp?

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
The two 1M2 resistors and the 2K2 resistor form a voltage divider for the op amp input, and the two resistors on its output half it.

Personally i would use a step down transformer to measure the voltage, and use a precision rectifier.

jmckenzie

Joined Feb 4, 2016
The two 1M2 resistors and the 2K2 resistor form a voltage divider for the op amp input, and the two resistors on its output half it.
Okay, thanks.

Personally i would use a step down transformer to measure the voltage, and use a precision rectifier.