Choosing Capacitors for Noise Filtering in Project: Advice Needed

Dan_S

Joined Mar 30, 2024
Hello everyone,

I'm currently working on a project that involves controlling a servo motor with an Arduino, potentiometer and displaying servo angle on an LCD screen. I have very little experience when it comes to building electrical circuits. The entire circuit operates on a 5V DC battery. I'm looking to incorporate capacitors for noise filtering to ensure smooth operation and minimize any interference.

I've come across various recommendations regarding capacitor selection, but I'm not sure about the best solution for my circuit. Some sources suggest using a single capacitor, while others advocate for using multiple capacitors in parallel. Also, I'm uncertain about what capacitance value to choose and which type of capacitor would be most suitable for the job.

Here are a few questions I have:

1. Is it better to use one or two capacitors in my circuit for noise filtering?
What would be the advantages and disadvantages of each approach (I'd be interesting to know, but not the most important thing)?

2. How do I calculate the capacitance needed for effective noise filtering in my circuit? Are there any formulas or guidelines I can follow?

3. Which type of capacitor should I use - Tantalum, Aluminum electrolytic, or Ceramic - for noise filtering in my circuit?
What are the key differences between these capacitor types, and how do they affect their performance in noise filtering applications (I'd be interesting to know, but not the most important thing)?

4. Where do I place these capacitors for noise filtering? Before servo and before LCD, right?

I would greatly appreciate any insights or any advice at all you can provide for my project. Thank you in advance!

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
What type of servo? RC or other?