Check inductor resistance?

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
For my ongoing project, I went through my electronics junk and found some inductors. They are unmarked unidentified, naturally. When trying to measure the resistance of them, to try to get an idea of the amperage they are capable of, a snag happened. I've never used inductors before so maybe it is normal, couldn't find any information on it though.

The inductors are heavy duty, out of junk industrial controls of some type. Toroidal, around 1 1/4" diameter, 3/4" wide, wound with 18Ga wire double layer. Figured they would be an ohm or two resistance. But when checked they only show 0.1 ohms? Using my Simpson 467 DVM. Does this sound right? Don't have a LCR meter, so what am I doing wrong here?

DC_Kid

Joined Feb 25, 2008
For my ongoing project, I went through my electronics junk and found some inductors. They are unmarked unidentified, naturally. When trying to measure the resistance of them, to try to get an idea of the amperage they are capable of, a snag happened. I've never used inductors before so maybe it is normal, couldn't find any information on it though.

The inductors are heavy duty, out of junk industrial controls of some type. Toroidal, around 1 1/4" diameter, 3/4" wide, wound with 18Ga wire double layer. Figured they would be an ohm or two resistance. But when checked they only show 0.1 ohms? Using my Simpson 467 DVM. Does this sound right? Don't have a LCR meter, so what am I doing wrong here?
The "R" in LCR is typically "Z" (impedance), a 1kHz frequency and the meter measures current, coverts that to a Ohmic value ("Z") when in "R" mode. straight DC test from a std ohm meter, 0.1 ohm sounds about right. the "L" and "C" in LCR use the same method as the "R" setting, but the meter will convert that info over to L or C values for the display, etc.

here's my LCR on a 1.5k resistor set to "R" mode, used scope to show you what the LCR is doing, etc.

Last edited:

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013