Capacitive Touch Noise from LCD TV

nginerd

Joined May 19, 2017
Full disclosure, I'm a mechanical engineer with a (relatively new) electrical engineering hobby i.e. I'm a noob in the world of serious electronics. I'm also the kinda person that likes to figure things out for themselves and I'm usually successful. So the fact that I'm here seeking help means that I've been trying pretty hard to solve my problem for a while and I'm REALLY stuck.

So, I have a project I'm working on where I'm using several homemade touch sensors fabricated out of ITO film and affixed to the back of a piece of plexi glass. I'm using ITO because I need the sensors to be transparent. The front of the plexi is covered with a sheet of vinyl with some printed graphics that correspond to the touch sensor locations. The sensors are controlled by a raspberry pi hat from Adafruit which is based on the MPR121 chip. The whole thing is intended to be backlit by an LCD TV. I chose to use a TV because there are many graphic elements that need to be illuminated independently and interactively based on what the user touches. This allows me to display graphics on the TV screen directly behind the graphics that are being illuminated. I thought this would be easier than wiring a bunch of LEDs which wouldn't produce the consistent lighting that i need (among other reasons). I have video of this in action if anyone is interested or needs clarification.