Boardgame controls 2D LED array

masterspin11

Joined Dec 2, 2014
Warning: I am a complete newbie in Electrical engineering and only an expert in programming. Please dumb it down for me. I've only done a handful of tutorials with the micro-controller (no shift register/transistor experience).

I would like some opinions on my schematic in the link below. Note, that it is not done at all and I am looking for opinions on whether the 2 SiPo Shift registers/resistors/NPN transistors/LED setup makes sense to anyone?

The top shift register controls which columns of LEDs should be toggled on and the bottom shift register controls which rows should be on. The intersection of what the top and bottom shift registers say should be on will actually turn those specified LEDs on.

Please ignore power and micro-controller setup.

So the question would be, am I doing it right? Concerns?

masterspin11

Joined Dec 2, 2014
I think you need a resistor in series with the base of each npn transistor but I'm not completely familiar with the 74HC family.
Thanks for the post. Yes, I forgot to mention that the micro controller and the shift registers I am acutally using are different. So output volts are different. But yes, I think you are right. In most cases I would need a resistor.

Brevor

Joined Apr 9, 2011
You might look into using a ULN2803 driver IC in place of the 8 transistors, it's a 16 pin DIP IC with 8 darlington transistors it also includes the base resistors configured to be driven from 5 Volts. It can handle 500 ma.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
If I read the part number correctly you have a 74NC595 shift register to drive the LEDs. That is spec'd for ±35mA of source/sink current (you are sourcing) but with a 1K series resistor you are just sending a fraction of that to the LEDs. So far that looks OK.

However, you have all the LEDs of a column in parallel. That means the brightness will vary depending on how many LEDs are on.