Electronic Boardgame help

masterspin11

Joined Dec 2, 2014
I am trying to make a 2-Dimensional, tile based, electronic board game. I want a microcontroller to know where the users pieces are on the board. I am very new to electronic projects and know only the programming side. So this is my project to learn and I want to make A LOT of mistakes and expect to be buying parts as I proceed.

I feel the easiest and safest solution would be to use connection pins on the bottom of board game pieces to complete a circuit in a key matrix. The board will have a hole in each tile where the connection pin will go through. The below URL shows how its done for keyboards and shows the solution for the "ghosting problem" when simultaneous keystrokes are performed. This probably can be adapted for my usage.

http://pcbheaven.com/wikipages/How_Key_Matrices_Works/

Note: The board game requires this technology and will give feedback to the user via speaker after some basic AI is done on the microcontroller.

What are your thoughts on 12x12 - 16x16 grid? Is it too expensive? Alternative solutions? Problems? Safety concerns? Not enough pins on the microcontroller solution? Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks,
Please elaborate on any terminology or references that you may find that is helpful.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I wonder if you could use RFID tags in the pieces, and then the board can recognize which piece is where.

Another thought - you could use magnets to help make a solid connection when a piece is placed. This would also help hold the pieces steady if you wanted to play in a mobile setting.

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
If you have magnetized piece bases, you could use hall effect sensors to sense the presence or absence of a piece but not identify it.

Another option is to mount a plug such as a 3.5mm stereo plug and some electronics in each piece so when it's plugged into one of the corresponding sockets on the board it's identity and location can be read.

masterspin11