Blog post on MOSFET switches?

xox

Joined Sep 8, 2017
As a beginner I've had little luck finding a site that clearly explains the various configurations used to employ MOSFETs (both n-channel and p-channel) as switches. I finally figured it out (I think) so now I'm considering making a short blog post on it. Before I do though, I just wanted to check with the experts here that I've got everything straight.

The simple schematic I've come up with is this:

mosfet_switches.png

Does it look alright?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Try substituting a PNP for the p-mos transistor and an NPN for the n-channel mosfet to see if the circuits look right. The only difference (in these circuits) between a bipolar transistor and a mosfet is the gate (base) current and voltage.

Why did I say that? Because they look wrong to me.

xox

Joined Sep 8, 2017
Don't BJT's and FET's have different biasing requirements though? And can you be a little more specific about what looks wrong with those circuits?

Correctness aside for a moment, I was thinking it might be useful to group them together like this (and throw BJT's into the mix just to round things out):

transistor-switches.png

What think ye?

Bordodynov

Joined May 20, 2015
Draw a built-in diode (it always exists) to the standard symbol and you will see that these diodes are included in the conducting direction!

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Perhaps this will help.
For normal operation:
  • An N-MOSFET has the drain voltage more positive than the source.
  • A P-MOSFET has the drain voltage more negative than the source.
(Note that the Source is the terminal tied to the substrate diode).

All of your circuits above violate that rule.

xox

Joined Sep 8, 2017
Perhaps this will help.
For normal operation:
  • An N-MOSFET has the drain voltage more positive than the source.
  • A P-MOSFET has the drain voltage more negative than the source.
(Note that the Source is the terminal tied to the substrate diode).