BK precision BK4005DDS or BK precision BK4010A

Robesim

Joined May 1, 2017
Hi, I have never used a FG before. I want to buy one for my home lab. I have to decide between these two. In terms of specs they are both good, but i need to know which FG is more user friendly. Hope someone can help me out. Many thanks in advance

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Hi, I have never used a FG before. I want to buy one for my home lab. I have to decide between these two. In terms of specs they are both good, but i need to know which FG is more user friendly.
User friendliness is too subjective.

What is the highest frequency you want? One goes to 5MHz and the other goes to 2MHz. The slower one has a lower lowest frequency and more output waveforms.

Robesim

Joined May 1, 2017
User friendliness is too subjective.

What is the highest frequency you want? One goes to 5MHz and the other goes to 2MHz. The slower one has a lower lowest frequency and more output waveforms.
Many thanks for your kind reply dl324. Yes i also thought it has more waveforms. A teacher from a youtube vid told me they have the 2 mhz at their school for 3 years now. Students are beating on them, so i think they are durable. I want to use it for experimenting, audio and automotive work. I think 2 mhz is more than enough. What's you're opinion.

SLK001

Joined Nov 29, 2011
Field Goal, Senior member?? From a senior member i expected a little more friendliness.
Friendliness? What are you, twelve? From someone wanting information from others, I expect a little more information. No, wait... I expect a LOT more information. And I expect things to be spelled out. In my 40+ years as an Electrical Engineer, I've never heard of a function generator referred to as a FG. This is a Electronics Forum, not the sewer that is Twitter - spell things out.