Battery Powered Milliohm Meter

foetusmachine

Joined Oct 30, 2023
I've no real background in electronics, but i'm jumping in the wrong end of the pool and trying to make a milliohm meter.

I've been using LTSpice to model the ideas and in this process, trying to understand what's going on. Below is where i'm at and the system is working (according to LTSpice):

1698698006277.png

However, clearly battery V1 is taking all of the test load and will eventuially discharge at a higher rate.

I've been able to get the system to almost work with a single battery, but once the DUT starts getting down around 70mOhm the opamp starts bottoming out and hitting its output offset voltage limit and the output sits up at around 70mV.

1698698316578.png

I've looked at a negative rail supply and have modelled an LTC660 to give the op amp a negative supply, but LTSpice really shows a noisy output that's mostly accurate.

Could I ask for some guidance on how I might either get a two-battery system to work or get the op amp -ve supply just low enough to get me to 0V output?

foetusmachine

Joined Oct 30, 2023
Okay, so I think i've worked it out. I've used an unbalanced voltage divider and a follower (is that the right word?) to feed both the inamp and its reference pin. I found that if the divider was balanced, the low end of measurements (at 1mOhm for the DUT), I was getting inaccurate gain. I think this +ve offset, this is a good thing because i'm only working in the 0-2V range.

According to the simulations, i'm getting accuracies ranging from 0.65% at the 1m Ohm measurement end down to 0.015% at the 2 Ohm measurements. Interested in anyone's thoughts on how to improve this.

Current draw is around 1.5-2mA when not in use, so i'll put a switch on it. LCD screen also to be integrated.