battery charge indicator

Viktor Vaughn

Joined Mar 21, 2015
Hello everyone,

I am working on a battery monitoring ciruit that I am having problems with. My instructor wants me to use a LM339 comparator with a tri-color LED. The circuit will be powered from the 6v battery source it is monitoring.

He wants the window voltage to be between 3v-2.5v, I attached his sketch he drew but the way he draws things is unclear and frustrating. so either I am a really dumb student or I am looking too deep into this, but if anyone can give me a clear and better understanding would be appreciated.

Attachments

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013
No attachment. Upload the file please.

Ok maybe a delay in upload.

The drawing looks like a "graphical" thinking on the part of the instructor, and a copy of that as such will not work.

You need to have 2 comparators with trigger points at 2.5 Volts and 3.0 Volts.
If you intend to use a Common Cathode Tri Color LED, then Lo = 0 Volts, Hi = 6 Volts

You will have 3 states -
* Both Comparators Low
* 2.5 V Triggered Hi, 3.0 V Low
* Both Comparators Triggered Hi

You can use the 3 states to configure lighting of each colour. Guess you can develop the circuit.

Last edited:

Viktor Vaughn

Joined Mar 21, 2015
No attachment. Upload the file please.

Ok maybe a delay in upload.

The drawing looks like a "graphical" thinking on the part of the instructor, and a copy of that as such will not work.

You need to have 2 comparators with trigger points at 2.5 Volts and 3.0 Volts.
If you intend to use a Common Cathode Tri Color LED, then Lo = 0 Volts, Hi = 6 Volts

You will have 3 states -
* Both Comparators Low
* 2.5 V Triggered Hi, 3.0 V Low
* Both Comparators Triggered Hi

You can use the 3 states to configure lighting of each colour. Guess you can develop the circuit.
So I only need to use 2 of the comparators instead of all 4?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
What is the interface to this tricolor LED? Is it two pins or three (or four)?