Basic Fixed Resistor with Potentionmeter Question

soma56

Joined Nov 11, 2018
Please excuse my noob question as I'm very new to electronics and circuitry. I'm attempting a mod on a diesel vehicle to which I need to add resistance to a specific wire. I'd like to be able to adjust the ohms on that wire anywhere from zero to 2.2k ohms. In one instance (as seen in the image below) the author suggested having a variable resistor potentionmeter as a means of adjusting the ohm's in addition to a fixed resistor. My questions are as follows:

If I have a fixed resistance of 2.2k ohms in addition to variable resistor potentionmeter would the total resistance be 2.2k ohms in addition to whatever setting I place on the variable resistor potentionemeter?

(Assuming the above is correct) Would it not be better to implement a variable resistor potentionemeter and install it without a fixed resistor (contrary to the image) and use it to set my desired resistance/setting?

Finally, I'm assuming the supply wire would go to the 'center' prong? (it's not clear in the diagram/image).

Thank you in advanced for any insight and (again) please excuse my novice questions.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
If I have a fixed resistance of 2.2k ohms in addition to variable resistor potentionmeter would the total resistance be 2.2k ohms in addition to whatever setting I place on the variable resistor potentionemeter?
Yes

(Assuming the above is correct) Would it not be better to implement a variable resistor potentionemeter and install it without a fixed resistor (contrary to the image) and use it to set my desired resistance/setting?
No but it can depend on the application. In this case it looks like the resistances are being used to replace a signal fro the IAT sensor which I see as Intake Air Temperature. So what exactly is your goal here? Also they reference 220 Ohm fixed and 10 K pot. I would used the fixed resistor as I am not sure how the ECU reads the IAT sensor.

Ron

Reloadron