Basic distance emitor and receiver circuits

q12x

Joined Sep 25, 2015
First, I have to mention that I am an artist and not an electronist. So my knowledge is limited in some directions of electronics.
I need a very basic (with minimum of components), very short range (~3 meters), (Like a remote control) emitor and it's receiver.
-It should not be with visible light since the entire panel is in direct light already both from natural and artificial light.
-I don't have IR Led's in stock. So it has to be with a coil of some sort.
-Ideally built with components that you have in stock ,the usual ones, and not very new or fancy that I have to wait 2 to 8 months to arrive.
A - Basic as to command a transistor that will command - a relay @5V /40mA /128R for the coil.
B - Basic as to command a transistor that will command - 5V to input pin5 for a LM3914.
Im not decided yet, and I might try both until I will decide which I will leave it as final.
This is just another module, for a bigger project im into.
Thank you for your immense help so far and happy holidays and happy new year 2021 !!!

Last edited:

q12x

Joined Sep 25, 2015
@AlbertHall Thank you for your response!
After your response, I changed the title and added a bit more description to my original text.
Because I was not that clear.
So I need a minimal way of switching a transistor from a small distance basically, through the air and not using any wires.
I don't have IR Led's in stock either. So it has to be with a coil of some sort.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
That probably means an RF transmitter and receiver. The transmitter would be fairly simple coupled with perhaps a regenerative receiver as used to be used for model radio control.

q12x

Joined Sep 25, 2015
Yes, thats what I was thinking also. See if you can find the most minimalistic circuit.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010