Basic design of circuit with a serie of LED

cdebrebisson

Joined May 5, 2024
Hello,

I am not an electronic engineer, so analog stuff is not my strong point. Hence please excuse the beginner question.

I need to design a simple circuit for a light box (A box with 5 small LEDs which, in case you are wondering is used in astrophotography to take calibration images)...

Anyhow, I need 5 LED which will be driven with a 3.3V CR2032 battery (unless I decide to use 5V USB)
Should I put my 5 LED in series or parallel? Where/how do I place my resistor.
Anything that will help reduce power consumption.

Thanks for your help.
Cyrille

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
First you need to find the forward voltage of the LED. Red is 1.8 to 2.2 volts. Green 2.0 to 2.4 volts. This is very dependent on how the part is made, and temperature.
Lets say you have a 2.0V LED and a 3.3V battery. 3.3-2.0=1.3V Place a resistor in series. The resistor will have 1.3V across it. Simple math. 1.3V across a 1k resistor causes 1.3mA (100 ohm = 13mA) Pick the right resistor for about 1/2 of the max LED current. I would use 5 LEDs and 5 resistors. It is not good to parallel 5 LEDs with only one series resistor.

A CR2032 battery is rated for 4mA by some companies and 0.2mA by others. There is a resistor inside the battery of about 200 ohms. (depends on who made the battery) This limits the max current. If you have 5 x 10mA LEDs in parallel = 50mA which is too much for that little battery. You can get 15mA for a short time.

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
The color of an LED determines how much voltage it needs. A red LED needs about 2V and a white or blue LED needs about 3.4V.
Your 3.3V battery voltage drops with a load and drops as it is used. Then your LEDs cannot be in series.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
I am not an electronic engineer
You should still be able to draw a block diagram showing what you want. We can help you with the details.