Background noise from ??

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Tryin2learn, Oct 7, 2017.

1. Tryin2learn

Thread Starter Member

Nov 11, 2016
    Hiya can anyone help me . I have been trying to add a microphone to my CCTV system but although I can hear sound I have a lot of background noise .The set up is like this I have a microphone amp mains powered ' connected to this is a speaker ' and a microphone 12 vdc powered by a adapter.I have tried everything that I know I have tried swopping the microphone' the microphone cable 'the 12 vdc cable 'the 12 vdc adapter it is now a linear one ' swopped the mains cable to the amp ' changed the speaker ' and still I get background noise from the speaker ???. Any ideas thanks Keith

2. ericgibbs

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 29, 2010
    hi T,
    What sort of background noise,? eg: hiss, rumble, wind, buzz ?
    E

Tonyr1084 likes this.
  3. Tonyr1084

Sep 24, 2015
    Yes, my question as well. If it's a buzz noise it's either from your power supply or the power line is picking up AC hum. If it's hiss then your amplifier is oscillating. If it's rumble or wind it's likely exactly that - wind. Can you post a recording of the noise? That way it's likely someone here can identify exactly what the problem is. Solution could be as simple as a couple filter capacitors or a wind screen over the mic.

4. Tryin2learn

Thread Starter Member

Nov 11, 2016
    Hiya it sounds more like a hiss to me when I turn the volume up it gets louder . I should have said it's not wind as I have a sponge wind sock on the mic . I don't know how to post a recording of the noise . Thanks keith

5. Tryin2learn

Thread Starter Member

Nov 11, 2016
    Thanks for replying .like below I think it's more like a hiss . I have tried plugging the amp into different circuit's of the house and the noise is still there .I have even tried using a 12 vdc battery supply to the mic to rule out the 12 vdc adapter's . Keith

6. Tonyr1084

Sep 24, 2015