Are Arduino kits worth it?

SeanV123

Joined Nov 12, 2020
Hello everyone,
I'm an electronic engineering student and electronic/arduino/raspberry pi hobbyist and I'm looking to get into learning about using IOT with microcontrollers. Basically I was looking at getting the Arduino IOT Explore kit (https://store.arduino.cc/products/arduino-explore-iot-kit?variant=40788881834135). It looks really good and has excellent reviews. However, being a student, money is tight, and the kit is quite pricey. Nonetheless, I am willing to invest in my education and hobby. Does anyone know if this kit good/worth the price? Are there any alternatives?
Thank you very much,
Happy Christmas.
Sean.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Hello everyone,
I'm an electronic engineering student and electronic/arduino/raspberry pi hobbyist and I'm looking to get into learning about using IOT with microcontrollers. Basically I was looking at getting the Arduino IOT Explore kit (https://store.arduino.cc/products/arduino-explore-iot-kit?variant=40788881834135). It looks really good and has excellent reviews. However, being a student, money is tight, and the kit is quite pricey. Nonetheless, I am willing to invest in my education and hobby. Does anyone know if this kit good/worth the price? Are there any alternatives?
Thank you very much,
Happy Christmas.
Sean.
If you don't know how to design, layout, fabricate, and assemble your own boards, they are an incredible value. Even with current shipping delays you can't get up and running faster. Be aware that, anytime you experiment with something new you're eventually going to end up throwing the first one away. It is the nature of things.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Does anyone know if this kit good/worth the price?