Appropriate generator characteristics for small wind turbine

leheim

Joined Jan 24, 2024
Hello guys. I am working on a project that aims to implement an MPPT controller for a small wind turbine and evaluate the performance gain compared to having no MPPT. I have built a wind turbine prototype using pvc pipes for rotor blades, 3d-printed rotor hub and nacelle, and a metal pole tower. It is probably not the best wind turbine out there, but I think it will be sufficient for testing the controller. I have a PMSG that I want to use, but I am unsure if it fits the application. I am studying digital and embedded electronics, so I am a bit unfamiliar with electrical machines. Here is my thought process:

The prototype has a rotor radius \(R\) of 0.6 m, and I will assume an efficiency \(C_p\) of 0.25 (while operating at the optimal tip speed ratio). For a wind speed \(v_w\) of 10 m/s, the output power is \[ P=C_p\frac{1}{2}\rho\pi R^2v_w^3=173 \text{W} \] where \(\rho\) is the air density (1.225 kg/m^3). If the optimal tip speed ratio \(\text{TSR}\) is 7, it means that the tip speed \(v_r\) is 70 m/s, which leads to an angular velocity \( \omega \) of 116 rad/s and \(\text{RPM}\) of 1114. The voltage constant \(Kv\) of my PMSG is 8.18 V/kRPM, which means that the output voltage \(V_o\) is 9.11 V. Since the output power is 173 W, the output current will be 19 A.

It seems to me that it would be beneficial to operate at a higher voltage/RPM to avoid high currents so that the power electronics will be easier and cheaper. I'm thinking of using a three-phase uncontrolled rectifier, and maybe a boost converter to implement MPPT by controlling the load with the PWM signal. Ideally, I will find modules for these so that I can focus on the control logic (sensors and MCU programming). Gears don't make sense for a wind turbine of this size. Should I have a different generator? What should I look for? A PMSM with a higher \(Kv\)?

schmitt trigger

Joined Jul 12, 2010