Antenna transmission line length and impedance matching

gggccc

Joined Aug 15, 2022
Hi,

I am not very experienced with RF and I am trying to design an RF module. I've done antenna design before so I know a little about impedance matching. However, there is one thing I am not sure about. I'm waiting for your help.

In microstrip antennas, we calculate the length of the feedline to match the feedline. This length usually has a length of λ/4. I can't understand how this happens on a PCB. In the RF Module, there is a path from the processor to the antenna, and there are various components on this path. There is also a matching circuit near the antenna. What I'm wondering is:
1) Is the matching circuit sufficient to match the entire transmission line from the processor to the antenna, and if there is a matching circuit, is there a need to calculate the length of the transmission line?

2) Should we calculate the matching circuit according to the antenna, or according to the transmission line before the matching circuit?

Thanks in advance.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC, nice to have you join us.

In microstrip antennas, we calculate the length of the feedline to match the feedline.
Is the second “feedline” supposed to be impedance? Antenna? Something else?

You would probably understand this a lot better if you step back and learn about the transmitter—feedline—antenna system in the context of why impedance matching is required. Fundamentally, impedance matching is to reduce reflected signals caused by a mismatch to a minimum.

Each element in the system needs to have a connection matching its characteristic impedance. So, for example, if there is a transmither whose output impedance is 50Ω and it needs to couple to a 75Ω feedline, something has to be done to ensire that on tramistter side it looks like the desired 50Ω and on the other 75Ω.