Antenna fundamentals

_nisha246_

Joined Dec 13, 2020
Hello, I'm new to RF design and I've been researching extensively, but I haven't found an answer to my question. I'm curious to know what happens to the energy stored in inductance and capacitance when it comes to the near-field region of an antenna. Is this energy eventually converted into radiation? I would greatly appreciate any assistance with this matter.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Hello, I'm new to RF design and I've been researching extensively, but I haven't found an answer to my question. I'm curious to know what happens to the energy stored in inductance and capacitance when it comes to the near-field region of an antenna. Is this energy eventually converted into radiation? I would greatly appreciate any assistance with this matter.
Welcome to AAC.

Is this coursework? Is the question involved in something for which you will get academic credit?

_nisha246_

Joined Dec 13, 2020
Welcome to AAC.

Is this coursework? Is the question involved in something for which you will get academic credit?

No. I have recently completed my studies in electronics and communication engineering, and my passion lies in designing RF systems. I am currently seeking clarification on certain fundamental concepts by posing questions.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
What is your conception about inductive and capacitive “storage” of energy in an antenna?

I ask to get an idea of your starting point.

_nisha246_

Joined Dec 13, 2020
if we consider the case of a dipole antenna then, the gap between wires or gap between antenna and air creates a capacitance. capacitive energy storage occurs in the electric field.
meanwhile, when alternating current flows through the antenna, self-inductance of the antenna occurs according to faraday's law. inductive energy storage occurs in magnetic fields.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
OK.