Anodised Antenna Caused a big problem.

recklessrog

Joined May 23, 2013
I have been an amateur radio operator for very many years and have always been interested in the "Black Art" of antenna's.
Last weekend, a local station operator called me over to try and help with re-erecting his mast. He had a 40ft wind up telescopic mast topped off with a tri band 5 element beam on a large rotator.
We soon had it up and reconnected with new ground plane spikes and coax cable, but when he tried it, the SWR was all over the place and performance was non existent.
We checked everything we could reach to no avail, and reluctantly lowered it all again and I started to examine the antenna. It was only then that he explained that he had taken it down to check for corrosion, and having found some, he had all the elements anodised. The elements are held together with jubilee clips where they are inserted into the traps, but because anodising aluminium makes it non-conductive, there was no connection between the sections.
I was not happy to drill through the tubes and bolt it up for two reasons,
1) I have seen elements crack at bolt holes due to flexing in strong winds,
2) The effective connection point where the bolt is placed, would have to be back from the end of the traps tube and would be in the wrong place for correct tuning. Should the anodising wear through at the end of the trap, it could alter the tuned length of the element.
Have you ever tried to remove anodising with worn out wet and dry abrasive paper? Inside the ends of the large section wasn't too hard, but the small ones were a nightmare.
So, 5 hours later in the wind and rain and in the dark we wound it up again and this time it worked perfectly. Now I have a stinking cold, and spent two days in bed!!! All good fun though, how we suffer for our hobbies!
P.S. he just rang me and said thanks, I told him about the cold and he's promised to send me round a bottle of wine and some paracetamol.

nsaspook