4kv output circuit

transforman

Joined Sep 23, 2018
I am just tring to built a 4kv output circuit. I have bought from a ebay this circuit to produce 250v AC from 12v DC. I tried to biult this using
3kV 10nF ceramic caps and 1N4007 (1A, 1000V) diodes but for some reason it does not work. Have anybody any idea why it does not working ? Also i tried to connect at the output of the ebay circuit some transformers and they also does not work. I tried a 1/2 homemade transformer and it didnt worked. Also i tried a 220v/12v transformer to see if it is going to work and still did not worked. I am not an expert in elecronics and i am still learning so my apologies if it looks really simple to all of you.

Hymie

Joined Mar 30, 2018
Although the diode circuit built is often referred to as a voltage doubler, in reality it is a voltage ladder. The output of each doubler stage increases by the input voltage. So in your circuit where you have a 220Vac input, the output of the first voltage double stage will be 440Vac, with the output of the next doubler stage being 660Vac (not 880Vac) and so on.

So you do not have enough doubler stages to reach 4kV with a 220Vac input.

I suggest you search ebay for a ‘high voltage generator’ with the output voltage and current you require.

transforman

Joined Sep 23, 2018
Yea that is true i as thinking to built a 8x2 stage for 4kv but it looks like my circuit does not work at all. I built a 2x4 stage already and the voltage i am taking is about 20-30v dc for some reason. Also why transformers does not work when i connect them to the output of that circuit ?

Last edited:

transforman

Joined Sep 23, 2018