4.5Kv 4Mhz square wave

Status
Not open for further replies.

JOCSTAA

Joined Jun 16, 2020
What would be the best way to obtain a 4.5kv square wave between 2 points which fluctuates at 4Mhz? I have a 4.5kv power supply(10ma) and a few 5kv rated MOSFETS. I am very new at this so I dont even know if such output can be obtained using those simple components, any solution would be appreciated.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
The output is an open circuit sort of like an arc gap, I need it for a project
This is not a responsive answer. It suggests that you have something to hide. In order to dispel the notion that you are engaged in some activity that would violate the TOS for this site you need to be more forthcoming.

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
If you said sine wave ….. maybe.
A triangle wave at 4mhz: 4500v/100nS (about) so 45V/nS. I found some 4500V MOSFETs what will turn off in 500nS at 4000V. (fall time) The only 4700V MOSFET I know of is slower yet.
Square wave by definition is much faster than triangle wave or sine wave.
I think you should look at SiC or GaN MOSFETs. In the 1000 to 1500 volt range. The speed is there but the voltage is not.
4Mhz? I have a 4.5kv power supply(10ma)
To switch fast will require power. Way beyond 10mA. Not ever 100mA. There is too much capacitance inside the MOSFETs. While they are turning on or off the current will be many amps. Because of the speed you want they will be switching all the time.

JOCSTAA

Joined Jun 16, 2020
If you said sine wave ….. maybe.
A triangle wave at 4mhz: 4500v/100nS (about) so 45V/nS. I found some 4500V MOSFETs what will turn off in 500nS at 4000V. (fall time) The only 4700V MOSFET I know of is slower yet.
Square wave by definition is much faster than triangle wave or sine wave.
I think you should look at SiC or GaN MOSFETs. In the 1000 to 1500 volt range. The speed is there but the voltage is not.