20V Battery Powered LED Bar?

TL400EX

Joined Sep 15, 2016
Hey Guys,

Obviously i am not an engineer... just a simple thinker. I would like to hook up a light bar to a walk behind leaf blower. It gets dark before i can get home and need maybe 30 minutes of light to work. I currently have Kobalt 20V cordless tools.... and thought it would be nice to use the cordless batteries to power the light, instead of having to hook up a normal battery. I currently have a work light, and with my 4ah 20V battery, it will last for hours. I know the led bar will drain it a lot quicker...

I was thinking of buying the work light pictured below... taking off the current light and hooking up the wires to the led light bar. It would be an easy plug in for the battery and have an on/off switch. It sounds simple... but I'm sure its not. I don't know the specs on the work light. Here are the specs on the led bar. LED POWER:120W 12000LM(40pcs * 3W high intensity LEDs), Operating Voltage: 10-30 DC

What will be my pitfalls? Thanks so much for your help, just trying to save time and money if it won't work.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Operating Voltage: 10-30 DC
Well that sounds promising, that the LED bar can accept a range of input voltages. That means it has internal circuitry to provide a constant current to the LEDs as long as there is adequate input power.

If it uses 120W, that means your battery (4Ah at 20V = 80Wh) will last only about 30 minutes. The amp-hour rating assumes a longer discharge time, maybe over 20 hours, and will be quite a bit lower at such a high current draw. That's an awfully fast discharge and may not be so good for the battery. Your photo shows a 2.0Ah battery.