10 amp relay on pcb question

Smothers1690

Joined Aug 11, 2017
Hi guys. New here to the forum. I'm pretty new to electronics so sorry if my terminology is bad or I'm not making any sense.
Basically I have a project going where I will be needing a relay that can handle about 10 amps(12v D.C.) on the switch side. I'd like to power it with a standard 9v battery and mount it on a pcb board. Also it only needs to be a spst relay. My questions are
1. Where the best place to find this relay
2. When connecting the circuits together can I just solder a solid wire onto the back of the pcb to handle the current? What size wire would I need?
3. I'm also looking for a small digital ammeter to put inline to measure the amperage. Anyone know where to locate this?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense. Thanks for the help in advance

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
You can find relays on EBay that should work for you. Automotive relays are cheap and should work OK at 9 volts, and the sockets for them are also cheap, may even come with the relay.

Having a socket for the relay may do away with your need for a PCB.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
It sounds like what you are looking for is a relay with contacts rated for 10 Amps DC and a coil voltage of 9 Volts DC which can be placed on a PCB (Printed Circuit Board). There are literally dozens of manufacturers out there There is Finder 40 Series - Miniature PCB/Plug-in relays 8 - 10 - 16 A as an example and also manufacturers like Omron PCB Power Relays and the list goes on. Since I have no clue where you are located a supplier is hard to suggest but in the US I have used Mouser, Digi-Key and Allied electronics to name a few.
2. When connecting the circuits together can I just solder a solid wire onto the back of the pcb to handle the current? What size wire would I need?