Why am i getting a 5 pin comparator when downloading an 8 pin?

tienk

Joined Apr 8, 2024
beginner here, i imported a spice file into ltspice but in the datasheet it says its 8 pins but in ltspice its 5 pin, did i do something wrong or am i missing something

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Some real-world ICs have more than one pin devoted to the same function. Spice would need only one.
Logic gates in Spice don't usually have supply pins.

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
beginner here, i imported a spice file into ltspice but in the datasheet it says its 8 pins but in ltspice its 5 pin
Beginner; thanks for "LTSPICE", but we need more information. What part number? It is a good idea to include the spice file of your project.
Not knowing what part, it is most likely that the part has 5 pins what are connected. "+", "-", out, +supply, and -supply, then two no-connects.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
There
beginner here, i imported a spice file into ltspice but in the datasheet it says its 8 pins but in ltspice its 5 pin, did i do something wrong or am i missing something
Simulation does not really have any concept of pin numbers. Only the signals that are relevant are implemented. As has been mentioned power pins are often omitted as well as multiple instances of a basic element like an AND gate. A simulation model for an LM393 dual comparator only has a single instance of a comparator and is not tied to a physical package,

tienk

Joined Apr 8, 2024

tienk

Joined Apr 8, 2024
There

Simulation does not really have any concept of pin numbers. Only the signals that are relevant are implemented. As has been mentioned power pins are often omitted as well as multiple instances of a basic element like an AND gate. A simulation model for an LM393 dual comparator only has a single instance of a comparator and is not tied to a physical package,
so in simple terms ground and Vcc will not be there?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013