What Frequency Counter Should I Buy?

Discussion in 'Test & Measurement Forum' started by erictech7, May 12, 2019.

1. erictech7

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 23, 2015
    I am looking for a frequency counter but am not sure what features I should look for, or type, etc.

I am a hobbyist, not a pro, and want it for general purpose use. One is checking RF freq's such as IF oscillators. Another would be logic and other digital chips. Audio, synthesizer circuits. Name it, I'll look at it.

Should I get several different ones?

If someone could give me a basic guide on frequency counters, such as whether there is a difference between RF and audio frequency counters that would be great.

I have tried googling this information, but a lot of it is surprisingly hard to find.

2. joeqsmith

Oct 15, 2016
    Depends what you need it for really. If you are just looking for a simple counter that can read frequency, some of the handheld meters I have looked at could read above 100MHz. I think there was one that made it to 200MHz! Not real accurate and not much resolution, but low cost.

Do you need to read a pulse width, period, ratios, events? Do you need an interface to a PC? If you need some thing fairly accurate, you may need some sort of reference.

3. erictech7

Mar 23, 2015
    Most likely, yes.

4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    I think you should be careful on choosing a frequency counter. Most frequency counters rely on an input signal that is well shaped and of strong amplitude. Connecting a frequency counter to an RF source will likely load the circuit and either shift the frequency or kill it altogether.

An oscilloscope is a superior test instrument for checking AF and RF signals. It can also give you frequency information.

Use a frequency counter when you want high accuracy, such as 8-decimal place precision.

5. erictech7

Mar 23, 2015