What could I use as a stand-in for a battery pack?

ballsystemlord

Joined Nov 19, 2018
Hello,
My father owns a golf cart. Today, he noticed that the charger was not working anymore. The cart, now dead, had to be hand loaded onto a trailer and hauled away. He said that he'd have to spend several hundred dollars to get a new charger. As I'm studying to become an EE, or so I hope, I suggested that I would fix it and he'd devote the money to my education.
Now I understand basic circuit troubleshooting, and I'm confident I could fix it. It's a basic transformer-type lead-acid battery charger (6x 6v batteries), with a little bit of digital circuitry to control the state of the charger and the current flowing through it.

What I'm rather unclear on is how to get the charger to try and "start up". Normally, you'd plug it into the golf cart, but if I wanted to use it with my oscilloscope (I'm assuming I'll need to use the oscilloscope), I'd have to move the charger inside of the house.[1][2]

So my question is, what could I use as a stand-in for a battery pack? [3]

Thanks!

[1]: IMHO, it's too hot outside for the oscilloscope at 89F in the shade -- and the trailer isn't in the shade.
[2]: Yes, I know. I have to prevent ground loops when probing.
[3]: I didn't search online for an answer. I'm trying to be prudent so as to avoid blowing up the charger and/or hurting myself. I did try and search the forum, but the search function still only gives me blog post results.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Typically, golf carts run on lead acid batteries. You don't need an oscilloscope to trouble shoot the charging system. A DMM should be enough.

First step is to find out how many batteries are in the cart, the voltage on each battery, and how they are wired together.
This will give you the output voltage required from the charger.

Your second step would be to measure the voltage on each battery.