Webasto Heater WiFi control on a boat

Deeplock

Joined Oct 6, 2020
Hi everyone
I’m a rookie so please bear with me!

I am living on a boat on the Grand Union canal with 240V shore power and also 12V DC power when I’m cruising. Most of my domestic appliances are controlled via a smart home device (MiHome/Energenie). I also have a smart relay that is fitted on a 240v pole switch for my hot water, again all Via 240v system.

I have a webasto heating system which runs via the DC system, I need some help getting this connected to my smart home system but I am finding conflicting information!

Attached pictures show the switch in question, the link to more details can be found here Webasto switch it connects to a Webasto Thermo 90 heater for which you can more details here Webasto Thermo 90 heater

What I’d like to do is control this via WiFi, I had a look at the sonoff WiFi switch solution but not sure this would work. I was planning to operate the on / off switch through the Sonoff and the diagnostics cables through the existing switch (which a number pulses flash depending on fault - see Webasto heater manual).

Any ideas or suggestions? I have seen some clever folks on eBay modify the switch so it can be controlled via a mobile phone/sim Mobile control for Webasto but nothing via WiFi which is annoying!

Many thanks
Deep (lock)

0411F0F6-BD80-4963-8683-6B182C39AEAC.jpegAA569B13-2C1E-4449-9E0C-496CFCC60118.jpeg

sghioto

Joined Dec 31, 2017
I'm assuming you are trying to control the heater via wifi only when you are using shore power. Does it have to be a Sonoff controller? If so it seems like you could connect a relay to the load side of the Sonoff and wire the contacts across the Webasto switch.
SG

Deeplock

Joined Oct 6, 2020