Voltage transformer 230 to 115V

sunnyswh

Joined Dec 19, 2014
I have collected a voltage transformer and a fan from a SCHOTT light source. I guess they are good parts. Just bought and audio system from US and wondering if I can use these parts to make a voltage transformer myself to use the 110v audio system in Singapore where 230V is used.

I am not experienced with electrics, but I guess since the parts are almost ready to use, I should be able to do it.

I have a pictures attached.

questions:

1. I think the transformer is able to convert from 230v to 115v if I am correct about the label. Am I right?

2. It is an old part and I have been trying to find design/wiring plan of the product but not successful. I think the three wire already there is the input and the other side is the output. which two shall I connect to get 115V? can I plug the 230V side and use a multimeter to test what combination to give me 115V?

3. the audio system is 60W, and the transformer and bear 150W (am I right?). Do I need a fan since I will need the transformer on all the time to play the audio?

4. Do I need control circuit or this simple transformer do work for the audio system?

5. what other practical cautions?

Thanks you very much for any advices!

IMAG0190.jpg IMAG0189.jpg

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
This tranny is not really designed for your application, but it appears to have a center-tap on the 230V primary winding, so you might be able to use it as an autotransformer. It should be good for your 60W stereo without a fan. However, you will need a Multimeter to determine how to hook it up. Do you have one?

It should be mounted in an fireproof enclosure. You will need a line cord with plug, a grommet,

an on-off toggle switch rated at 230V 5A,

a fuse-holder and fuse,

and a US style duplex outlet.

Last edited:

sunnyswh

Joined Dec 19, 2014