Voltage and Current in my Circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by wiston, Dec 26, 2016.

1. wiston

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 26, 2016
    Hi, I am new in Arduino. Now I created simple circuit.

https://circuits.io/circuits/3594936-arduino-first-project/embed#breadboard

I just wonder what Voltage is before and after my Resistor. And how I can calculate it? I think the basic formula U = R * I is not enough. Because when I substitute current = 0,0227 my U = 5V again. And 5V is my power. I am confused with this stupid circuit, please help me :(

What is the Voltage before and after the resistor?
    And is current constat?

Thank you!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    V resistor + Vled = 5V
    Your current is NOT 0.0227A because the LED uses some voltage. About 2.2V for the color red.

To save other people waiting for the drawing to load, it's a series circuit: 5V to 220 ohms, to a red LED, to a push button, to ground.

3. wiston

Dec 26, 2016
    So the purpose of the Resistor is to get cca 2,2V from 5V power source to prevent the LED from destruction? The main reason why I am confused is: How I can get the value od 220 ohms Rezistors is the good choice for me? Because in Arduino Set there is no LED specifications....max Voltage or Current. So in case I know that I have 5V Power source, LED and button and i know, that LED max Voltage is 2,2 how can I get the best Rezistor value?

And one more questions is: How can be Current constant in whole serial circuit? There is different Current in the wire which is before Rezistor and after rezistor? I = U / R so the bigger is R the lower is I ?

Thank you.

4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    We don't really know that the voltage across the LED is 2,2V. That is simply an educated guess based on past experience.