Using 555 timer to drive LEDs with high current draw

mrobbo15

Joined Jan 2, 2017
Hi all,

I'm planning to recreate this sequential turn signal circuit:

... and actually use it in a custom LED turn signal assembly. Problem is, apparently the 555 is only rated to 200mA, whereas my proposed assembly will draw 1.33A @14V with all LEDs powered (19 arrays of 4 LEDs, each with a forward current of 70mA - 76 LEDs total).

Is there any way I can get around this and provide enough current for the LEDs? Also, is it possible to just add on strings of LEDs to this diagram so that there are 19 steps instead of 5?

I'm a novice when it comes to circuit design, just hoping to make sense of it enough to create this circuit.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Many "Instructables" circuits have serious design flaws, so beware of anything they post. Also, those are not standard schematic symbols for resistors, capacitors, transistors, or a battery. The circuit as designed is to cute for its own good. Each successive LED is dimmer than the one before it, and the base current for the bottom transistor increases to over 50 mA by the end of a cycle. Think transistor death. Also, the timing between the LED steps is not constant. Separate from that, none of the LED current comes from or goes through the 555, so your main concern does not apply.

In this circuit each LED stays on when the next one comes on, so the visual is one LED, then two at the same time, then three, etc. This is a Mustang or Cougar display, originally done with a timing motor, machined cam shaft, and three micro switches, similar to a music box mechanism; as opposed to a Knight Rider display where only one LED is on at any given moment. Which display type are you after, and how many LEDs?